Trans4mind Accueil

Transformer l'Esprit

backnext

Domination Télique

Un individu a tendance à passer plus de temps dans un mode particulier de motivation, peut devenir une caractéristique durables de la personnalité ou de la domination (disposition générale). A tout moment, la personne état opérationnel actuel (actuelle disposition) peut être différente, selon la personne qui est façon de percevoir et d'interpréter les circonstances actuelles.

Pour juger du degré de domination de génisses, les facteurs suivants peuvent être pris en compte: la gravité - individuelle orientée vers "important" des objectifs, plutôt que sur des objectifs qui sont tout simplement des excuses pour le plaisir des activités en cours, la planification - tendance à faire des plans détaillés à venir plutôt que de prendre Les choses comme elles viennent; évitement - tendant à éviter les situations qui génèrent une intense excitation.

Telic-dominante personnes sont prudents, sérieux d'esprit, l'utilisation du déni, de détachement et de la planification face à l'éveil et à l'expérience d'éveil comme désagréable. Ils sont auto-conscient, inhibée, et limités dans leur répertoire sexuel. Elles manquent de créativité et ont tendance à se comporter obsessionaly, ne pas pouvoir accéder à l'état paratelic. Ils ont tendance à être plus réaliste mais aussi moins optimistes, et sont plus susceptibles de craindre l'échec que l'espoir de réussir lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à une tâche. Cette anticipation de l'échec les conduit à se livrer à un plus haut niveau de planification et de répétition, ils sont très conscients du temps. Ils aspirent à la connaissance et à la stabilité, et aussi paraître moins drôle que leurs homologues paratelic, la danse et les parties ne sont pas leur fort, la musique classique et soft est susceptible d'être préférée. Ils se tournent vers introverti axée sur le problème d'adaptation ( "je vais plus dans mon esprit ce que je vais dire ou faire") et de détachement ("J'attends de voir ce qui se passera d'abord") comme leurs principales stratégies. En raison d'un manque d'excitation, peu cortex du cerveau est synchronisé. Il a tendance à être plus sensibles à la douleur et à un risque de tension chronique des muscles et du coeur et les problèmes de circulation à la suite de plus de sensibilité à la vie quotidienne des imprévus. Il s'agit là d'une "classe moyenne", professionnel ou le "bien-instruits" façon d'aborder la vie (mais bien sûr, la description ci-dessus est un cas extrême).

Mirthful rire est une expérience particulière dans le paratelic état. En raison de l'éventualité d'humour et de comédie, de génisses dominante gens vont à l'inverse paratelic état, et le rire contribue à la réalisation de haute excitation agréable au sein de cet Etat.

Le non-dominante selfconscious paratelic personne a opposé les motivations, ont tendance à être plutôt direction, craignant l'ennui et la recherche de sensations et émotions. Ils ont du mal à inverser génisses à la relaxation peut-être à cause du passé rejet de gauche du cerveau des modes de pensée du fait de mauvaises expériences à l'école. Il est typique de l'état de la "classe ouvrière" et de nombreux jeunes d'aujourd'hui, qui manquent de ressources éducatives et ont été élevés avec la TV comme «implication sans effort». Fumer, boire et la suralimentation, les matchs de football et les chevaux, Sun page 3 de savons et de la télévision, de la pornographie, de la joie de l'équitation, le "sex, drugs' n rock 'n roll" sont typiques des modes de vie. Cheap thrills artless et de la vie, parce qu'il n'ya pas de vision. Paratelic sujets dominants se livrer à des voeux pieux ("J'espère un miracle va se produire"), et en mettant l'accent sur le positif ( "Cherchez le bon côté"), car leurs styles d'adaptation.

Les deux dominances sont faibles états d'excitation, coupée du réel potentiel en profondeur de la vie. Tous deux sont déterminés par d'autres, poussés par les craintes et les besoins non satisfaits, elles sont donc idéales pour les annonceurs et les fourrages sont sensibles à tous les types de médias influence. Les génisses dominante implication peur, le manque de contrôle et de quelque chose de mal se passer. La peur dominante paratelic faible excitation ennui mais qui n'ont pas la capacité de génisses pour envisager des objectifs louables, et ainsi de rechercher les moyens de parvenir à l'excitation qui ne nécessitent pas beaucoup d'efforts de leur part.

Les psychologues étudient Reversal Theory fait des recherches à l'Université de Sussex, à l'entrevue extrêmement génisses-et-paratelic dominante personnalités, dans lesquels ils sont invités à décrire une particularité (typique). Les sujets femelles ont tendance à fournir des indications détaillées, le temps des comptes, décrivant les objectifs et les routines d'un lien vers des extrémités. Le paratelic sujets marquants fourni, et pas nécessairement dans le temps, l'ordre et parfois exagérées, de façon spontanée, la recherche d'une plus grande variété d'activités. Fait intéressant, le sexe des sujets semble faire aucune différence à ces tendances.

L'extrait suivant provient d'un thème dominant de génisses:

"Tous mes jours passent les uns dans les autres, ils recherchent généralement les mêmes. J'essaie de les garder cette façon. J'aime travailler dans des routines. J'ai trouvé dans l'armée, quand j'y étais pour un an, des routines qui vous permettent de rester comme vous êtes et devenir plus forts que vous. Voici donc mon hier:

"je me levais à 10,00, est allé à la salle de bains et lavé mes mains, puis je suis allée à la toilette, laver mes mains, puis de nouveau décidé d'avoir une douche. J'ai brossé mes dents et me suis ensuite séchées de manière très approfondie. J'ai visité la salle de gym pour certains poids et de la formation, mais d'autres, car elle a été fermée en raison d'un problème avec l'eau je ne pourrais pas faire un peu d'exercice. Cette bouleverser ma routine. Je suis allée à la banque pour recueillir mon prêt, puis j'ai téléphoné à mon père de lui demander des conseils professionnels sur ce qu'il faut faire avec l'argent. Il m'a dit prêt à envoyer les documents à lui, et il prendra les dispositions nécessaires. Je suis ensuite rentré à mon appartement à 13,00 et mangé une pomme et bu une tasse de jus d'agrumes - trop de personnes, je m'occupe de ma figure. Les gens avec qui je partage un appartement ont un chien qui j'ai sorti pour une promenade et un jogging. J'ai trouvé cette exaltante et passionnante. À 15,00 j'ai pris le chien en ville pour assister à la finale de la manifestation d'étudiants. La manifestation était sur les loyers - je ne pense pas que de telles manifestations parvenir à leur but. Il est préférable de trouver les moyens de payer le loyer. À mon retour à l'appartement à 16,45 il y avait une lettre disant que je dus le propriétaire # 3,00 pour ma dernière facture de téléphone. Cela était faux. J'avais payé ma facture. J'ai écrit directement à lui et jogging au bureau de poste afin d'envoyer ma lettre. J'ai été bouleversé par la lettre ... Je ne l'attendais pas et c'était une erreur. Ces erreurs me gênent beaucoup - ils ne doivent pas être acceptés. J'ai alors préparé et mangé mon dîner et fait mon propre exercice quotidien. Je pense qu'il est important de garder le corps en bonne santé et de ne pas en abuser. À 17,00 j'ai regardé une émission de télévision - pour seulement 35 minutes. De 17,35 à 21,00, j'ai travaillé sur ma traduction de Stephens and Unwin. Parce que ma tête est pleine de ces travaux, qui est particulièrement important, je me suis arrêté et j'ai pris un pied de la boutique pour une très petite barre de chocolat. À la boutique beaucoup de gens ont regardé vs Norvège à la Suède de football. Elle attend intéressant et les gens étaient excités mais j'avais beaucoup de travail à faire, je suis retourné à mon appartement. J'ai commencé à travailler à nouveau, mais toutes étaient à regarder la télévision dans la chambre ci-dessus, en encourageant chaque fois qu'un but est marqué. En fin de compte, le bruit signifiait que je devais renoncer à se joindre à eux et dans le football. Une fois qu'il a été terminé, j'ai pu récupérer et de lire un peu plus. C'est ce que j'ai fait jusqu'à 01,30 ans quand je suis allé au lit. J'ai dormi presque tout de suite.

"Ma date butoir pour l'achèvement de la traduction de demain. J'ai besoin de terminer cette ou alors je vais lâcher les autres membres de mon groupe, que je ne pense pas que je devrais faire. Je vais aussi besoin d'aller à une conférence donnée par le professeur Adams. Il n'est pas un bon maître, mais il est essentiel d'y assister car il peut dire certaines choses de l'importance pour moi dans l'avenir. Je vais essayer à nouveau de se former dans la salle de gymnastique et si j'ai fini ma traduction je vais faire une promenade avec le chien ou aller se rafraîchir ou regarder la télévision. Mais rien ne sera autorisé à m'empêcher de terminer ma traduction, ce qui sera l'événement le plus excitant de ma semaine, non seulement ma journée!"

Le thème paratelic suit:

"Oui, bien ... er ... Je dormi trop longtemps ... N'avaient pas senti bien à la veille ... Et, depuis, j'avais besoin de sommeil ... Oui, er, j'ai juste dormi dans ... Je ne pense pas que mon horloge travaillé ... I slept in mais je suis arrivé à la salle de lecture à environ une heure de retard. Je devais aller à une conférence et à deux groupes de tutoriel, mais je n'ai pas la peine. Au contraire, j'ai parlé à un homme qui m'a fantaisies. J'ai convenu avec lui que je voudrais aller à la photos, je suis allé a la maison et d'une douche, laver mes cheveux et s'assit dans un sauna - il était bon, et j'étais exhibant un peu. Je ne pense pas à propos du Collège ... Pourquoi devrais-je, j'avais un agréable moment. Aussi je me sentais mieux d'ici là, je vous avais dit que je n'avais pas senti bien. J'ai dîné avec l'homme dont j'ai parlé, mon ami est venu tour, et nous avons décidé de conduire lui à l'aéroport. Cela m'a fait un peu de nostalgie - mon ami, elle est de la même ville que moi et qu'elle va revenir pendant quelques jours. Puis David m'a pris pour les photos pour voir "Fame" (nouveau). J'aime ce film parce que ça change tout le temps fil - I like that. Ensuite on est allé à son appartement et le café et avait joué Échecs chinois. Nous avons eu des rapports sexuels et puis je suis rentré. Je crois qu'il est sérieux quant à moi, mais je ne suis pas sérieux à son sujet. Je suis rentré très tard ... Très fatigué.

"Quel jour sommes-demain? Ah oui ... Vendredi. Non ... Jeudi, ou est-ce? je ne sais pas. Je crois que je vais essayer de faire quelques travaux aujourd'hui. Ensuite, je vais aller voir une famille à Brighton et rester avec eux pour le souper. Ils sont de vieux amis ... Et j'ai besoin d'un repas de leur part car je suis à court d'argent! Rappelez-vous, j'ai l'intention de faire le tour de deux semaines maintenant, mais toujours quelque chose se passe."

Ce document, très différentes les valeurs, motivations et modes de vie de ces deux extrêmes. Il n'est pas difficile de voir comment il serait difficile d'empathie entre eux, et comment ces différences résultent dans la vie sociale, politique et économique incompréhension et l'intolérance.


Allez au prochain article, Créativité

Retour à Transformer l'Esprit - Sommairenext

Trans4mind Home Page
~ A Journey of Self-Discovery ~

Transforming the Mind ~ by Peter Shepherd


backnext

Telic Dominance

An individual's tendency to spend more time in a particular motivational mode, may become an enduring personality characteristic or dominance (general disposition). At any time the person's current operational state (current disposition) may differ, according to way the person is perceiving and interpreting current circumstances.

To judge the degree of telic dominance, the following factors may be taken into account: seriousness - individual oriented towards 'important' goals, rather than goals that are simply excuses for ongoing pleasurable activities; planning - tendency to make detailed plans ahead rather than take things as they come; avoidance - tending to avoid situations that generate intense excitement.

Telic-dominant persons are cautious, serious-minded, use denial, detachment and planning when faced with arousal and experience arousal as unpleasant. They are self-conscious, inhibited, and limited in their sexual repertoire. They lack creativity and tend to behave obsessionaly, not being able to access the paratelic state. They tend to be more realistic but also less optimistic, and are more likely to fear failure than hope for success when faced with some task. This anticipation of failure leads them to engage in a higher level of planning and rehearsal; they're very conscious of time. They desire familiarity and stability, and also appear less humorous than their paratelic counterparts; dancing and parties are not their forte, and soft classical music is likely to be preferred. They look to introverted problem-focused coping ('I go over in my mind what I will say or do') and detachment ('I am waiting to see what will happen first') as their major strategies. Due to lack of arousal, little of the brain cortex is synchronised. There tends to be more sensitivity to pain and a risk of chronic muscle tension and heart and circulation problems as a result of over-sensitivity to life's daily contingencies. This is a 'middle class', professional or 'well-educated' way of approaching life (but of course the above description is an extreme case).

“Both telic and paratelic dominances are low arousal states, cut off from the real potential of in-depth living.”
Mirthful laughter is a particular experience within the paratelic state. Due to the contingency of wit and comedy, telic-dominant people will reverse to the paratelic state, and laughter helps towards the achievement of pleasant high arousal within that state.

The un-selfconscious paratelic-dominant person has the opposite motivations, tending to be rather directionless, fearing boredom and seeking sensations and thrills. They find it hard to reverse to telic relaxation perhaps because of past rejection of left-brain ways of thinking due to unpleasant experiences at school. It is a typical state for the 'working class' and many youth of today, who lack educational resources and have been brought up with TV as 'involvement without effort'. Smoking, boozing and over-eating, football pools and the horses, Sun page 3 and TV soaps, pornography, joy-riding, 'sex, drugs 'n rock 'n roll' are typical lifestyles. Cheap thrills and artless living, because there is no vision. Paratelic-dominant subjects engage in wishful thinking ('I hope a miracle will happen') and in focusing on the positive ('Look for the silver lining') as their coping styles.

Both dominances are low arousal states, cut off from the real potential of in-depth living. Both are other-determined, driven by fears and unmet needs, so they are ideal fodder for advertisers and are susceptible to all types of media influence. The telic-dominant fear involvement, being out of control and something bad happening. The paratelic-dominant fear low-arousal boredom but do not have the telic ability to envision worthwhile goals, and so seek ways to achieve arousal that do not require much effort on their own part.

Psychologists studying Reversal Theory did research at Sussex University, interviewing extremely telic- and paratelic-dominant personalities, in which they are asked to describe a particular (typical) day. The telic subjects tended to provide detailed, time-specific accounts, describing routines and goals leading to specific ends. The paratelic subjects provided highlights, not necessarily in time-order and sometimes exaggerated, spontaneously seeking out a greater variety of activity. Interestingly, the gender of subjects appears to make no difference to these tendencies.

The following extract is from a telic-dominant subject:

'All of my days go into each other, they look generally the same. I try to keep them this way. I like to work in routines. I found in the army, when I was there for one year, that routines let you stay as you are and become stronger as you are. I like this. So here is my yesterday:

'I got up at 10.00, went to the bathroom and washed my hands, then I went to the toilet, washed my hands again and then decided to have a shower. I brushed my teeth and then dried myself very thoroughly. I visited the gym for some weights and other training but because it was closed due to a problem with water I could not get exercise. This upset my routine. I went to the bank to collect my loan and then I telephoned my father to ask his professional advice about what to do with the money. He told me to send the loan papers to him and he will make the necessary arrangements. I then returned to my flat at 13.00 and ate an apple and drank a cup of citrus juice - people overeat, I look after my figure. People with whom I share a flat have a dog that I took out for a walk and a jog. I found this exhilarating and exciting. At 15.00 I took the dog into town to watch the final part of the student demonstration. The demonstration was about rents - I do not think such demonstrations achieve their purpose. It is better to find ways of paying your rent. On my return to the flat at 16.45 there was a letter saying I owed the landlord #3.00 for my last telephone bill. This was untrue. I had paid my bill. I wrote directly to him and jogged to the post office to post my letter. I was upset by the letter ... I did not expect it and it was a mistake. Such mistakes annoy me a lot - they must not be allowed to happen. I then prepared and ate my dinner and did my own daily exercise. I think it is important to keep the body healthy and not abuse it. At 17.00 I watched a TV program - for only 35 minutes. From 17.35 to 21.00 I worked on my translation of Stephens and Unwin. Because my head was full of this work, which is especially important, I stopped and took a walk to the shop for a very small bar of chocolate. At the shop a lot of people were watching Norway vs. Sweden at football. It looked interesting and people were excited but I had important work to do so I went back to my flat. I started work again but all were watching TV in the room above, cheering whenever a goal was scored. In the end the noise meant that I had to give up and join them in the football. Once it was finished I was able to get back and read some more. This I did until 01.30 when I went to bed. I slept almost straight away.

'My deadline for completing the translation is tomorrow. I need to finish this or else I will let down the others in my group, which I do not think I should do. I will also need to go to a lecture by Professor Adams. He is not a good teacher but it is essential to attend since he may say some things of importance to me in the future. I will try again to train in the gym and if I finish my translation I will go for a walk with the dog or go for a jog or watch TV. But nothing will be allowed to prevent me from finishing my translation; that will be the most exciting event of my week, not only my day! [slight laughter].'

The paratelic subject follows:

'Yes, well ... er... I overslept ... hadn't felt well the day before ... and, er, I needed to sleep ... so, er, I just slept in ... I don't think my clock worked ... but I slept in. I got to the reading room about an hour late. I was supposed to go to a lecture and to two tutorial groups but I did not bother. Instead I talked to a man who fancies me. I agreed with him that I would go to the pictures, so I went home and had a shower, washed my hair and sat in a sauna - it was good, and I was showing off a bit. I didn't think about the college ... why should I, I was having a nice time. Also I felt better by then, I told you I hadn't felt well. I had dinner with the man I mentioned, then my friend came round and we decided to drive her to the airport. It made me a little homesick - my friend, she is from the same town as me and she's going back for a few days. Then David took me to the pictures to see 'Fame' (again). I enjoy this film because it changes thread all the time - I like that. Then we went to his flat and had coffee and played Chinese Chess. We had sex and then I went home. I think he is serious about me but I am not serious about him. I got home really late ... very tired.

'Which day is tomorrow? Ah yes ... Friday. No ... Thursday, or is it? I don't know. I think I'll try to do some work today. Then I'll go to see a family in Brighton and stay with them for supper. They're old friends ... and I need a meal from them since I'm short of money! Mind you, I have been intending to go round for two weeks now, but something always happens.'

These document the widely differing values, motives and life-styles of these two extremes. It is not difficult to see how empathy would be difficult between them, and how such differences result in social, political and economic misunderstanding and intolerance.

Out of the box

Move on to Creativity

Return to Transforming the Mind - Contents

Want to renew your life?

Our online, interactive video workshops present the most effective methods of holistic personal development...
Start off with a Free Life Assessment and a Free Consultation...
 

Have a question about Trans4mind Training?

Frequently Asked Questions
What Are Our Fees?
Email Peter Shepherd

Support your personal development with these popular and effective hypnosis downloads...

This is our selection of favorites, but there's a session for every need! Choose from over 800 Hypnosis Downloads...
Search now on an issue that interests or concerns you...
 

View all the Hypnosis Downloads here

Get a free Hypnosis Download at Facebook

Hypnosis is the key to unlocking your creativity, focusing your energy and understanding yourself

Hypnosis has a long history of helping human beings be the very best they can be. It can be used to control anything controlled by the unconscious mind - pain, blood pressure, fear, confidence levels, mood, sex drive... the list goes on:

  1. You'll become highly productive without getting stressed
  2. Tap into your creative energies instantly
  3. Really understand yourself and others
  4. You'll learn how to stay calm in high pressure or uncomfortable situations
  5. Develop laser-like levels of focus and concentration

Lean more... Uncommon Hypnosis Course

Welcome to the New Wave in Meditation Technology

Click here to learn more about the iAwake Profound Meditation Program
The iAwake Profound Meditation Program
is a way of enhancing your meditation practice, making meditation not only easier and more enjoyable, but also more efficient and effective.
Profound Meditation provides the smoothest, deepest, richest, most profound meditation experience available anywhere...
Here is a link to a free 20-minute track from iAwake Technologies - a sample of the type of tools that will deepen your meditation immediately and help you quickly become a successful meditator. It's the opening track of iAwake's flagship product, the Profound Meditation Program, called the iAwake Experience...
Learn More and Download the iAwake Experience
We think you'll find this technology a tremendous aid on your transformative journey of becoming your best and most creative self - and you can get started today!
And here's a fantastic resource for self-education...

The World of Inspiration eLibrary

World of Inspiration
A treasure trove of personal development wisdom

Step inside. Just like a real library, there are thousands of quality eBooks presented on three "floors" and in different "rooms." To purchase your $15 Lifetime Membership to the World of Inspiration eLibrary, click the following button:

Payment is made through our secure transaction agent, PayPal.
The transaction is in the language and currency of your choice.
"I want to just say 'WOW!' This collection is probably the best money I ever spent! I've already received many times over in personal enrichment after just 9 days. I've had a past metaphysical background, but even newcomers to this material will really benefit. Thanks again." ~ J.S. (Pennsylvania, USA)
"The collection is everything which you promised. And more! A superb contribution to the good of the world. Many thanks indeed." ~ R.P. (Georgia, USA)
"Just a short note of thanks for the library. I've only had membership for several days now but I already feel this is perhaps the most interesting compilation I have yet seen. Worth far more than the price of admission. The browser linked structure works well and makes it easy to manage such a large storehouse of information. It is rarely that I find something I like as much as this or that I feel strongly enough to write a note like this." ~ P.W. (Minnesota, USA)
Copyright © 1997-2017 Trans4mind Ltd