Trans4mind Home Page
Home Article Library Esoteric History & Philosophy

The Five Dhyani Buddhas

The Five Dhyani Buddhas

The Five Dhyani Buddhas are Vairochana, Amitabha, Akshobhya, Ratnasambhava, and Amoghasiddhi. The Five Dhyani Buddhas is a fivefold mandala, a paradigm for Tantric symbology, as in the Five Dhyani Buddhas, which is its rudimental understanding. For instance, the Jina Buddhas appear in the crowns of many deities, and they represent an expression of past attainment or as a promise of future attainment.


The mandala of the Five Jina Buddhas begins with Akshobhya, the "Unshakable One." He presides over the eastern sector, and is usually shown at the bottom of the thangkas. He performs the earth-touching gesture, which is the Bhumisparsha mudra, and is blue in color. This gesture was also displayed by Shakyamuni Buddha when he gained victory over Mara. The Maravijaya helped overcome all egoic forces. This gesture represents the plateau of attainment and stability, as the first step in the east of Mandala, and it denotes the steadfastness of Akshobhya.

Mirrorlike wisdom, which is also called the Adarsh jnana, is the transcendental insight represented by him – it actually reflects the world as it is, without being distorted by the ego. It is the antidote to the poison of anger, or hatred, It is a major cause and result of egotistic bias and prejudice, and is the antidote to the poison of anger, or hatred. He presides over the Vajra family, where the emblem is vajra and the symbolic animal is the elephant.


The southern portion is the second step in a clockwise movement around the mandala, which appears on the left of the thangka painting. It is where Ratnasambhava, the "Jewel-Born" resides. He is yellow in color and he performs the gift-bestowing gesture, which is the Varada mudra, with his right hand. The equality of all things, which is also called Samata jnana, is his transcendental insight; which is also the antidote to pride. Samata jnana is an ultimate realization. It is that all beings are equally deserving of abundance, prosperity, and well-being.

Those who have attained this realization of the equality in fact want to give generously to all beings - from material prosperity to the ultimate gift of Dharma. The Jewel family is presided over byRatnasambhava, where the emblem is the wish-fulfilling gem, and the symbolic animal is horse.


The abode of Amitabha is the western sector of the mandala is the abode of Amitabha, whose name means "Boundless Amitabha". He displays the gesture of deep meditation, which is the dhyana mudra, and is red in color. Discriminating wisdom, or Pratheeksha jnana, is his transcendental insight, which is the antidote to selfishness, lust, and greed. The foundation of these poisonous manifestations of desire, driven by ego, are the illusions regarding the true sources of satisfaction. They also entail a complete blindness to the needs of others. The ultimate source of happiness is revealed by the discriminating wisdom, which is born of meditative awareness. Amitabha presides over the Lotus family and he emblematized the pure lotus blossom, whereas the animal emblem is the peacock.


The northern sector of the mandala is where Amoghasiddhi resides, whose name means “unfailing success,” or “unlimited accomplishment. This Jina Buddha is green. And, his right hand is in the fear-not gesture, or the Abhaya Mudra. Perfected action, or kriyanushthana jnana, is the transcendental insight associated with him. It acts as an antidote to envy and jealousy, and also in terms of accomplishment. It is possible to engage fearlessly in liberative activities after being freed from this self-centered concern. The Karma, or the Action family is presided by him. He is emblematized by the double-vajra, which is the Viswa vajra. And, Garuda, the mythical bird is the animal emblem of Amoghasiddhi.


Vairochana is the Intensely Luminescent One, and resides in the center. He is white and resembles pure consciousness. He performs the gesture of turning the wheel of Dharma, which is the dharmachakra mudra, and his status represents the source of all illumination. In Akanishta Paradise, this is the ultimate emanator of all Dharma teachings. The full understanding of truth and reality or the dharmadhatu jnana, is his transcendental insight, which is the final antidote to delusion, ignorance, unknowing. It is omniscience, complete awakening. It is the ultimate goal of all Buddhism. Thus, Vairochana presides over the Buddha or Tathagata family. His emblem is the Dharma wheel and the symbolic animal is the lion.

The fivefold Buddha mandala is a template for many mandalas and remains a pervasive motif and unifying principle of Tantric Buddhist art.

More Esoteric History & Philosophy articles
You'll find good info on many topics using our site search: